Roc City Boom

Rochester Soccer


Boom top Krajisnik 1-0, will play for Division Title next week

Published Aug 23, 2020

It was a hot and sunny day in Rochester NY as the Roc City Boom meet Krajisnik FC for the 3rd and final time this season. After drawing the first 2 games, round 3 was up for grabs, as Krajisnik was playing to move up in the standings and Roc City needed the win to keep their chances of winning the UPSL Western NY Division Title alive. 

Roc City would hold the majority of possession through out most of the game, but goals were going to be hard to come by. Early on, Mwalizi Mutambo would play in Cunyet Vardar, who forced a save from the Krajisnik keeper, winning a corner. Stevaughn Service would force another one with some great dribbling, but once again the Boom failed to capitalize. Taner Bay tested the visiting keeper in the 39th minute, however once again the Boom could not cash in. 

Corner kicks were in abundance for the Boom, in all they won 8, but would not be able to capitalize on any of them. The game went into the half tied at 0-0.  

Early in the 2nd half Vardar would go down with an injury and was replaced by George Amoh. Ngwese Ebangwese would come in soon after and paid instant dividends.  Keeper Connor Halsted played a driven through ball on to Ebangwese, who was able to beat the Krajisnik defense, and was taken down from behind, earning a penalty kick. FLX Digital "Man of the Match" Mwalizi Mutambo would step up and finish off the penalty kick giving the Boom a 1-0 lead.

The Boom would continue to press and were able to hold on for the 1-0 win, improving to 4-4-1. Krajisnik drops to 1-2-5. 

The last game of the season is this Sunday August 30 at 4pm against Greater Binghamton FC. If Roc City wins they will be crowned champions of the UPSL Western NY Division. 

Tickets are still available at:



Conner Halsted, Stevaughn Service(Mazin Mohamed), Mitchell Brickman, Luke Loecher, Jesse Toth, Mwalizi Mutambo(Maximus LaRosa), Jared Toth(Omar Mohamed), Paulin Kolodja(Elhadji Sidibe), Taner Bay(Lukas Rubio), Cunyet Vardar(George Amoh), Peter DiLorenzo(Ngwese Ebangwese)